Book Prize


We welcome nominations for the SFTS book award. Sponsored by the academic journal Science Fiction Studies, this prize honors an outstanding scholarly monograph that explores the intersection between popular culture, especially science fiction, and the sciences. We welcome submissions from a variety of disciplinary perspectives including cultural studies, the history of science, media studies, and the sociology of science. The award is established for the purpose of recognizing groundbreaking and exceptional contributions to the field. Books must be published in English between January 1 and December 31 of the calendar year for which the prize is given; edited volumes as well as works by more than two authors are not eligible. 


The jury for the 2020 prize is Aimee Bahng (Pomona College),  Elizabeth Anne Swanstrom (The University of Utah), Sherryl Vint (UCR), and Chair Paweł Frelik (University of Warsaw). Nominations for the award should be made to Paweł Frelik at

Recent Winners


The 2019 award has been won by Natania Meeker, Associate Professor of French and Comparative Literature at the University of Southern California, and Antónia Szabari, also Associate Professor of French and Comparative Literature at the University of Southern California, for Radical Botany: Plants and Speculative Fiction (Fordham UP), a lucid and fascinating history of the representation of plant life in speculative fiction and philosophy, which demonstrates just how intricately such representations are interwoven with the evolution of Modernity.


The 2018 award has been won by Aimee Bahng, Assistant Professor of Gender and Women's Studies at Pomona College, Claremont, for Migrant Futures: Decolonizing Futures in Speculative Times (Duke University Press, 2018), a compelling analysis of competing ways that speculative finance and speculative fiction project futures, which offers vital new insights into how the technologize imagery affects the lives of economically marginalized subjects.


The 2017 award has been won by Andrew Pilsch, Assistant Professor at Texas A&M University, for Transhumanism: Evolutionary Futurism and the Human Technologies of Utopia(University of Minnesota Press, 2017), an account of contemporary transhumanism which frames it in a longer tradition of evolutionary humanism and recovers a far more radical and necessary perspective from out of the banal excesses of muscular variety of transhumanism.


The 2016 award has been won by Steven Shaviro, DeRoy Professor of English at the Wayne State University, Detroit, for Discognition (Repeater Books, 2016) [], a compelling critical argument for the power of science fiction literature to expand the human understanding of cognition itself in its myriad forms.


The 2015 award has been won by Colin Milburn, Professor and Gary Snyder Chair in Science and Humanities at the University of California, Davis, for Mondo Nano: Fun and Games in the World of Digital Matter (Duke University Press, 2015), a powerfully insightful and carefully documented study of the imitate integrations of military scientific research and sf media from digital games to immersive environments.


The 2014 award has been won by Aris Mousoutzanis, Senior Lecturer in Film and Screen Studies at the University of Brighton, for Fin-de-Siècle Fictions, 1890s/1990s: Apocalypse, Technoscience, Empire (Palgrave Macmillan, 2014), a richly historicized and powerfully argued exploration of the relationship between military technology, the apocalyptic imagination and the mobilization of popular narratives of prediction.


The 2013 award has been won by David Wittenberg, Associate Professor of English at The University of Iowa, for Time Travel: The Popular Philosophy of Narrative (Fordham University Press, 2013), an astutely theorized book that repositions our understanding between time travel narratives and shifting concepts of temporality in physics.


The first annual SFTS book award has been won by Anindita Banerjee, Associate Professor of Comparative Literature at Cornell University, for We Modern People: Science Fiction and the Making of Russian Modernity (Wesleyan University Press, 2012), a deeply researched and powerfully written study of the connections between Russian science fiction and the technological imagination of Russian modernity.